Skip to product information
1 of 1

Golden Hour Books

Quartet by Jean Rhys

Quartet by Jean Rhys

Regular price $15.95 USD
Regular price Sale price $15.95 USD
Sale Sold out
“[Quartet’s] abiding power arises from [Jean Rhys’s] ability to convey the complex vectors of desire and repulsion that move between the characters, distorted by the intractable demands of convention, even in this supposedly liberal bohemian society.” —from the introduction by Claire Messud

Quartet, Jean Rhys’s first novel, launched her literary career in the late 1920s, and today remains an incisive, sinister tale of love and obsession.

After her husband, Stephan, is arrested, Marya finds herself destitute in Paris. With nowhere else to turn, she accepts the hospitality of an English couple living on the fringes of the artistic world. Yet as Marya is drawn inexorably into their universe, she becomes entangled in a bizarre sexual and psychological relationship that frightens even as it fascinates her—and as the date of Stephan’s release from prison draws near, Marya’s new life splits apart at the seams.

Jean Rhys (1890-1979), one of the foremost writers of the twentieth century, is the author of Wide Sargasso Sea-her last and best-known novel-as well as After Leaving Mr. Mackenzie, Voyage in the Dark, and Good Morning, Midnight, all available in Norton paperback.
Claire Messud is the author of six works of fiction, including the New York Times bestsellers The Emperor's Children and The Burning Girl, and a book of essays, Kant's Little Prussian Head and Other Reasons Why I Write. She lives in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

"Rhys tells her story with the miraculous spontaneity of all her writing, and in the tone of one who keeps calm while reporting a catastrophe." - Shirley Hazzard, New York Times Book Review

View full details